Wills and Bequests: The Most Popular Planned Giving Vehicle

Share

The most common form of planned gift is the bequest – making a gift through one’s Will. (i.e. Through your estate planning.)  Indeed, some 80% to 90% of planned gifts are bequests.

For these Donors, the bequest is one of the smartest options.  Leaving a gift by Will permits a Donor to leave a significant gift in the future to benefit the Canadian Medical Foundation all the while providing for their present and future financial security.

As another advantage, if one makes a bequest, a Donor’s estate is entitled to a tax receipt for the full value of the gift, thereby reducing the taxes on the estate that are payable.

Intestacy (Dying without a Will or Estate Plan)

When you die without a Will, you are deemed by law to have died intestate.  Intestacy is an unattractive outcome for most people because the government decides how their estate is to be administered.  The law divides the intestate’s estate and thereby determines how much each of one’s heirs will receive.  Charity receives nothing.  For most people, the government having that complete control over the division of their assets is unacceptable.

With a Will, the Donor (in law, called the “Testator”) is provided with a great deal of flexibility.  A significant contribution to the Canadian  Medical Foundation can be made, without the Donor having to sacrifice any financial security during his or her lifetime.

Indeed, a Will allows the Testator to make his or her own decisions, among other things, about the following matters:

  • Who will receive the distributions of his or her estate;
  • The appointment of guardians for minor children; and,
  • The determination of whom will be his or her Executor.

Types of Bequests

The most common types of bequests are the following ones:

  1. A Specific Bequest: With this type of bequest, the Canadian Medical Foundation would receive a specific dollar amount or a stated proportion of the Testator’s estate. (E.g., “I give to the Canadian Medical Foundation…”)
  2. A Contingent Bequest: With this type of bequest, the Canadian Medical Foundation would receive all, or a share, of the Testator’s estate only in the event of the prior death of other named beneficiaries. (E.g., “If my spouse pre-deceases me, then my entire estate – or, one-third of my estate, not to exceed $5,000, etc. – to the CMF…”)
  3. A Residual Bequest: With this type of bequest, the Canadian Medical Foundation would receive all, or a percentage, of the remainder of a donor’s estate after other specific legacies have been fulfilled. (E.g., “I give to the CMF, 5% of the remainder of my estate, to be used at the discretion of the CMF’s board of governance….”)
  4. A Trust Remainder Bequest: With this type of bequest, the CMF would receive all or part of the principal of a trust established in the Will to benefit named beneficiaries, upon the death of those beneficiaries. (E.g., “Upon the death of named beneficiaries receiving income from a trust established herein, all or a part of the remainder of the trust to go to the Canadian Medical Foundation.”)
  5. A Restricted Bequest: Funds are restricted to the use designated. (E.g., “I give $10,000 to support physician health and wellness programs in Canada…”)

Legs testamentaires : Le mécanisme de don planifié le plus courant

Share

Le legs – don testamentaire effectué dans le cadre de votre planification successorale – est la forme de don planifié la plus courante. En effet, de 80 % à 90 % des dons planifiés sont des legs.

Pour les donateurs, le legs s’avère l’une des meilleures options. Le don testamentaire leur permet de laisser une partie importante de leur héritage au profit de la Fondation médicale canadienne (FMC) tout en assurant leur sécurité financière actuelle et future.

Comme autre avantage du legs, mentionnons que la succession du donateur a droit à un reçu officiel pour le plein montant du don, ce qui permet de réduire l’impôt successoral exigible.

Succession ab intestat (décès sans testament ou plan successoral)

La personne qui décède sans testament est considérée aux yeux de la loi comme étant décédée intestat. Pour la majorité des gens, la succession ab intestat est peu attrayante, car l’administration de la succession est alors confiée au gouvernement. La loi divise la succession de l’intestat et détermine ainsi la part de chacun des héritiers. Les organismes caritatifs ne reçoivent rien. La plupart des gens n’acceptent pas que le gouvernement exerce une telle emprise sur la division de leurs actifs.

Le testament offre au donateur (en droit, le « testateur ») une grande flexibilité. Ce dernier peut faire un don important à la Fondation médicale canadienne, sans avoir à sacrifier de quelque façon que ce soit sa sécurité financière de son vivant.

En effet, le testament permet au testateur de prendre ses propres décisions, notamment sur les questions suivantes :

  • Qui seront les bénéficiaires de la succession?
  • Qui sera désigné tuteur des enfants mineurs?
  • Qui sera le liquidateur?

 Types de legs

Voici les types de legs les plus courants.

  1. Le legs à titre particulier : La FMC reçoit un montant en dollars ou une proportion prédéterminés de la succession du testateur. (Exemple : « Je lègue X $ à la Fondation médicale canadienne. »)
  2.  Le legs subsidiaire : La FMC reçoit la totalité ou une partie de la succession du testateur seulement si les autres bénéficiaires désignés ne lui survivent pas. (Exemple : « Si mon conjoint meurt avant moi, l’intégralité / le tiers – sans dépasser 5 000 $ – de mon patrimoine ira à la Fondation médicale canadienne. »)
  3.  Le legs résiduaire : La FMC reçoit la totalité ou un pourcentage du reliquat de la succession après délivrance des legs à titre particulier. (Exemple : « Je lègue 5 % du reliquat de ma succession à la Fondation médicale canadienne, à utiliser à la discrétion du conseil d’administration de la Fondation. »)
  4.  Le legs en fiducie testamentaire : La FMC reçoit, à la suite du décès du dernier bénéficiaire, la totalité ou une partie du capital d’une fiducie testamentaire constituée pour les bénéficiaires désignés. (Exemple : « Au décès de tous les bénéficiaires touchant un revenu de la fiducie testamentaire, la totalité ou une partie du reliquat de la fiducie ira à la Fondation médicale canadienne. »)
  5.  Le legs avec affectation : Les fonds ne peuvent servir qu’aux fins précisées. (Exemple : « Je lègue 10 000 $ aux programmes visant à assurer la santé et le mieux-être des médecins canadiens. »)