Life Insurance

Share

A gift of insurance can allow a Donor to make a much larger gift to the Canadian Medical Foundation than they might otherwise be able to consider. Tax savings today are real.

There are a number of very common methods to utilize life insurance in your charitable giving and tax saving plans.  Proceeds of life insurance policies provide your beneficiary, in this case the Canadian Medical Foundation, with a lump sum that can really have an impact on our charitable programs to support Canada’s health care system and the physicians from coast-to-coast-to-coast that are its core.  Often, heirs use the proceeds from insurance to help off-set funeral cost, capital gains taxes, or other end of life expenses.  However, a gift of life insurance to the Canadian Medical Foundation is not part of someone’s estate and therefore is not subject to capital gains, or other taxes.

If one or more of your life insurance policies no longer fits your financial strategy, consider:

  • Transferring your paid-up policy to the Canadian Medical Foundation, and in so doing receive an immediate charitable tax receipt for the full-value of the policy;
  • If premiums are still payable, transfer ownership, naming the Canadian Medical Foundation as beneficiary. You continue to pay the premiums but annually get a tax-receipt for the value of the associated costs; or
  • Simply name the Canadian Medical Foundation as beneficiary of the policy.

Depending upon which of the options are chosen, the tax advantages could be considerable for you, as follows:

  1. When the Canadian Medical Foundation is named as the irrevocable beneficiary, we can immediately issue a charitable tax receipt to you for the full cash value of the policy, plus any accumulated dividends;
  2.  If you are still paying premiums, the Canadian Medical Foundation will issue a receipt for the full cash value, but you will also receive a cash receipt for each additional premium paid; but no donation receipt will be issued for the death benefits;
  3. Simply naming the Canadian Medical Foundation as beneficiary, without gifting the policy, will not reduce your taxes today. However, in the future, when CMF receives the proceeds of the policy and, if the policy is named specifically in your will, the CMF will issue a charitable tax receipt, which will benefit your estate.  In this case, you will be entitled to claim a certain donation credit that can off-set estate taxes in the year of your death for proceeds donated to charity to a maximum of 100% of net income in the year of your death.  Where the donation exceeds your net income, the excess can be carried back to the year prior to death and up to 100% of net income in that year can be claimed as a donation as well.  While probate fees still apply, the donation credit will far outweigh these fees.

If you would like to make a substantial gift in the future, you can contribute small yearly premiums over time and receive tax-deductible receipts for the amount of your payments.  You may simply arrange with a life insurance company to transfer ownership and beneficial rights to the Canadian Medical Foundation.  You will have the peace of mind knowing that you have made a significant contribution to a national charity focused on supporting physicians and Canada’s health care system.

Additional Alternatives

You may also name the Canadian Medical Foundation as an alternative beneficiary by changing the beneficiary declaration in your policy (whether it be term insurance or otherwise) to read:  “To my wife (husband) if she (he) survives me, but if she (he) predeceases me, then to the Canadian Medical Foundation.”

Another option is to make the Canadian Medical Foundation a co-beneficiary of your life insurance policy to the extent of any dividend accumulation.  Then, the benefits would be divided, with the primary beneficiary receiving the face value and the Canadian Medical Foundation receiving the accumulated dividends.

Registered Assets

Another valuable advantage exists.  If you hold registered assets, such as a Registered Retired Income Fund (RRIF), gifting a life insurance policy to charity can ensure that your heirs receive the full value of your registered assets.

Normally, when a married person passes, their spouse becomes the owner of the RRIF tax-free.  However, any other heirs would only get 50% of the funds while the government gets the rest.  However, if one takes out a life insurance policy with approximately the same value as your RRIF and designate the Canadian Medical Foundation as your beneficiary, then the charitable tax receipt from your donation will effectively offset the portion of the RRIF owed to the Canada Revenue Agency.

You can name the Canadian Medical Foundation as a beneficiary of your Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP), RRIF or life insurance policy.  Doing so will provide you with a significant donation tax credit in the year of your death, which can offset other taxable income.

Assurance vie

Share

Le don de votre assurance vie à la Fondation médicale canadienne (FMC) peut vous permettre de fournir une contribution nettement supérieure à celle que vous auriez d’abord envisagée. Sans compter les économies d’impôt que vous réaliserez dès aujourd’hui!

Plusieurs méthodes sont couramment utilisées pour affecter les produits d’assurance vie à la planification de dons de charité et d’économies d’impôt. Par exemple, le produit de votre assurance vie peut permettre à votre bénéficiaire, ici la FMC, d’obtenir un versement forfaitaire pouvant avoir des retombées concrètes pour les programmes de bienfaisance qui soutiennent le système canadien de soins de santé et les médecins dont il dépend. Souvent, les héritiers se servent du produit de l’assurance vie pour aider à régler les frais funéraires, l’impôt sur les gains en capital ou les autres dépenses de fin de vie. Cependant, le don d’assurance vie à la FMC ne fait pas partie de la succession et n’est donc assujetti à aucun impôt.

Si votre police d’assurance vie ne cadre plus avec votre stratégie financière, vous pourriez envisager les options suivantes :

  • céder votre police libérée à la FMC (vous obtiendrez ainsi immédiatement un reçu fiscal pour don de charité correspondant à la pleine valeur de la police);
  • si les primes demeurent exigibles, transférer la propriété en désignant la FMC comme bénéficiaire (vous continuerez à payer les primes, mais vous obtiendrez chaque année un reçu au montant des coûts engendrés);
  • désigner la FMC comme bénéficiaire, tout simplement.

Selon l’option choisie, les avantages fiscaux pourraient être considérables :

  1. Lorsque la FMC est désignée comme bénéficiaire irrévocable, elle peut immédiatement vous remettre un reçu pour don de charité correspondant à la pleine valeur de rachat de la police et des dividendes accumulés.
  2. Si vous continuez à payer des primes, la FMC vous délivrera un reçu pour la pleine valeur de rachat, mais vous toucherez également des prestations en espèces à chaque paiement de votre prime; cependant, aucun reçu pour don de charité ne vous sera remis pour la prestation de décès.
  3. La simple désignation de la FMC comme bénéficiaire, sans don de la police, ne se traduira pas par une réduction immédiate de vos impôts. Cependant, lorsque la FMC recevra le produit de votre assurance, à condition que la police soit explicitement nommée dans votre testament, elle pourra délivrer un reçu pour don de charité au bénéfice de la succession. Il sera alors possible de demander un crédit qui pourra être appliqué au paiement de l’impôt successoral l’année de votre décès, relativement au produit donné à un organisme caritatif, jusqu’à un maximum de 100 % du revenu net que vous aurez touché la dernière année de votre vie. Si le montant du don excède votre revenu net, l’excédent peut être reporté sur l’année précédente, et jusqu’à 100 % du revenu net touché cette année-là peut également être déclaré comme un don. Les droits d’homologation demeureront applicables, mais le crédit pour don de charité sera de beaucoup supérieur.

Si vous souhaitez faire un don important plus tard, vous pouvez payer de petites primes annuelles dès maintenant, pour lesquelles vous obtiendrez des reçus ouvrant droit à une déduction fiscale pour la totalité des paiements effectués. Vous n’avez qu’à demander à votre société d’assurance vie de céder la propriété du produit d’assurance et les droits bénéficiaires à la FMC. Vous aurez l’esprit tranquille en sachant que vous avez apporté une contribution importante aux œuvres d’un organisme caritatif national voué aux médecins et au système canadien de soins de santé.

Autres options

Vous pouvez également désigner la FMC comme bénéficiaire subrogé en modifiant le libellé de la déclaration dans votre police par un énoncé semblable à celui-ci : « À ma conjointe [mon conjoint] si elle [il] me survit, mais à la Fondation médicale canadienne si elle [il] décède avant moi ».

Une autre option consiste à faire de la FMC un cobénéficiaire de votre police d’assurance vie. Les deux parties se partageraient alors les bénéfices, le bénéficiaire principal touchant la valeur nominale, et la FMC, les dividendes accumulés.

Actifs enregistrés

Le don d’assurance peut vous procurer un autre précieux avantage. Si vous détenez des actifs enregistrés, comme un fonds enregistré de revenu de retraite (FERR), le don d’une police d’assurance vie à un organisme caritatif peut garantir que vos héritiers recevront la pleine valeur de vos actifs.

Normalement, lorsqu’une personne mariée décède, son conjoint devient propriétaire du FERR en franchise d’impôt. Les autres héritiers ne touchent toutefois que la moitié des fonds, l’autre moitié allant dans les coffres du gouvernement. Cependant, si l’un d’entre eux souscrit une police d’assurance vie dont la valeur équivaut approximativement à celle de votre FERR et que vous avez désigné la FMC comme bénéficiaire, le reçu pour don de charité compensera la portion du FERR due à l’Agence du revenu du Canada.

Vous pouvez désigner la FMC comme bénéficiaire de votre régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite (REER), de votre FERR ou de votre police d’assurance vie. Votre succession recevra ainsi un crédit d’impôt considérable pour don de charité l’année de votre décès, ce qui pourrait permettre de compenser d’autres revenus imposables.